STORE | Print Page | Contact Us | Report Abuse | Sign In | Register
Award Winners
Share |

2018 Award Winners

The 2018 awards were presented at the Closing Plenary held at COMPOST2019 in Phoenix, AZ.

2018 Composter of the Year, Large-Scale, Awarded to City of Plano-Texas Pure Products, Plano, TX
This facility was established in 1992 by the City of Plano in partnership with four-member cities: Plano, Allen, Frisco, McKinney, Richardson and North Texas Municipal Water District. The compost they produce is STA certified and OMRI listed, made from feedstock collected from groceries, markets and “back of house” preparation of food and yard trimmings.

2018 Composter of the Year, Small-Scale, Awarded to The Compost Company, Nashville, TN
The 5,000 ton per year facility provides both manufacturing and collection from locations such as Music City Center, Nashville’s LEED Gold convention center, as well as The Country Music Hall of Fame.

H. Clark Gregory Award for outstanding grass roots efforts to promote composting and public outreach, Awarded to the Solana Center for Environmental Innovation, Diane Hazard, Executive Director.
In 1983, Solana Center pioneered the first comprehensive curbside recycling program in Southern California and is one of the first community-based recycling programs in the U.S.

Program of the Year, Awarded to City of Minneapolis
Education and outreach led to 49,350 households (46%) signing up and participating in the city’s two-year-old citywide organics recycling program – and with a very low contamination rate (less than 1% in residential curbside organics).

Previous USCC Award Recipients

Composter of the Year

2017 Cedar Grove Compost, Seattle, WA

2016 Tanks Green Stuff

2015 Rockland County Solid Waste Management Authority

2014 Charleston County’s Bees Ferry Composting Facility

2013 Joseph DiNorscia, Laurel Valley Soils

2012 Jeff Ziegenbein, Inland Empire Regional Composting Authority

2011 McGill Environmental Systems

2010 Ron Miesbauer, South Kern Compost Manufacturing Facility (Synagro)

2009 Bill Camarillo, Agromin

2008 Bob Yost, A-1 Organics, Denver CO

2007 Steve Elliott, Mecklenburg County, NC

2006 Sun-Land Garden Products, Watsonville, CA

2005 Paul Brewer, Navy Whidbey Recycling, Whidbey Island, WA

2004 George Belmont, New England Organics

2002 Wayne King, ERTH Products, LLC.

2000 Scott Plett, Davenport Compost Facility

1996 Peter Garnham, Town of East Hampton, NY

1995 Jeff Gage, Land Recovery, Inc.

1994 Sharon Barnes, Barnes Nursery, Huron, OH

Composting Program of the Year

2017 University of Florida Student Compost Cooperative

2016 Recycle Smart

2015 Texas State University Bobcat Blend Composting Program

2014 NYC Compost Project, New York, NY

2010 Greg Gelewski, Madison County

Hi Kellogg Award

2017 Wayne King, ERTH products

2016 Ginny Black

2015 Kathy KC Alexander – Connecticut Department of Energy and Environmental Protection and Sumner Martinson – MA-DEP

2014 Frank Franciosi

2013 Dr. Nora Goldstein

2012 Dr. Frank Guoin, University of Maryland

2011 Michele Young, City of San Jose – Environmental Services Dept.

2010 Craig Coker, Coker Composting & Consulting

2009 Jeffrey LeBlanc, WeCare Organics

2008 Dr. Walter Carey, New Milford Farms

2007 Chris Bales, New England Organics

2006 Marvin Urbanczyk, SCARAB Manufacturing and Leasing, L.P.

2005 Sego Jackson, Snohomish County; David McDonald, City of Seattle; Kris Beatty, King County; and Connie Allison, Washington Organics Recycling Council, Soils for Salmon program

2004 Jean Schwab, USEPA

Outstanding Service

2015 Heidi Ringhofer, Paul Sellew and Rod Tyler

2011 Jim McNelly, Renewable Carbon Management

2010 Ginny Black, Minnesota Pollution Control Agency

2009 Ron Alexander & Al Rattie – STA Program

Rodale Agricultural – AWARD DISCONTINUED

1996 Ed Maltby, Smith Vocational

1995 Pat Herbert, Herbert Ranch

1995 Joe Keyser, Maryland Environmental Service

1995 George Fitzpatrick, University of Florida

1994 Lewis Carr, University of Maryland

Special Awards

 2013 Sharon Barnes, Barnes Nursery. Inc

1995 Bill Greggs, Proctor and Gamble

1995 Oley Sheremeta, Recomp of Washington

1994 Archie Albright, William Ruchelshaus, BFI

Past presidents recognized at the 2016 awards luncheon:

Rod Tyler, 2015

Lorrie Loder, 2013-14

Frank Franciosi, 2011-12

Wayne King, 2009-10

Matt Cotton, 2006-08

Carl Kipp, 2005

Kevin Tritz, 2002-04

Jack Hoeck, 2001

Stu Buckner, 2000

Sharon Barnes, 1999

These winners have given generously of their time and talent to further the compost industry and to protect the environment for future generations. Please join the USCC in thanking them for their efforts.